Uncategorized

Reapers Room

Kevin Misner Ó

 

‘Seems like all I can do is watch

From the picket-fence outside your home

With my eyelids inside-out

I can still see your breath corrode the air.

 

And the bells chime again

From inside the Reaper’s Room

Calling me to be something

Within something I don’t know.

 

And it feels like every time

I cut that brittle cord

I feel it’s sudden release

Whip back into my face.

 

And I can see you stand there

Before my burnt-out mind

Telling me to go there

But I always end up here.

 

And I know my faults

I know my mistakes

I carry them with me

They poison my days.

 

And I wish you’d let me breathe

Take your skeletal hand off my face

Let me dance under the sun

And let me sleep by the moon.

 

‘Seems like all I can do is watch

From the picket-fence outside your home

And inside the Reaper’s Room

I know what I am not.

Standard

Leave a Reply

