Uncategorized

This House

 

By Lisa Russell

http://heartbreak-heaven.blogspot.ca

Howling ghosts they reappear

That creak in the door

Never goes away

And the floors

Sound like someone’s

Walking in the night

This house had many windows

But they are all boarded up

Except one

In the attic

Where I’m trapped

There’s poison running

Through my veins

I couldn’t escape

Even if I tried

The darkness roams

Like a creature

Bitter souls haunt this house

And they huddle close

To my single burning candle

But as long as it burns

They can’t hurt me

Slowly as I watch

I’m too afraid to sleep

I must stay in the light

Because when it goes out

I will lose myself

Amongst the souls

Of this place

And never again

Be able to know the know the light.

Standard

Leave a Reply

