Uncategorized

Whiteout

Lisa Russell

Standing with the sand between my toes

The snow starts to fall like ash

All around me

Enclosing me

Each drop landing on my skin

Like fire

Burning flesh

The road ahead I cannot see

But just two steps in front of me

Strangers are in the dark

Ones I don’t want to remember

Remember remember remember

They call to me

As the flesh blisters

They come closer

Deep into the storm

I must go

No one will follow me

To the edge of death

They stay hidden

Chanting

Yet I can keep them at bay

One foot in front of the other

No matter how much it burns.

Standard

Leave a Reply

